Boa Gym 9,8 mm

for intensive training in the hall

Edelrid Climbing rope hall rope Boa-Gym green-red
Edelrid Kletterseil Hallenseil Boa-Gym Mobilansicht
Boa Gym 9,8 mm

for intensive training in the hall

first dynamic single rope with polyester jacket

the EDELRID Boa Gym 9.8 mm

Edelrid belay device Giga-Jul New

The Boa Gym is the first dynamic single rope with a polyester sheath. The polyester sheath means the Boa Gym is extremely robust and abrasion resistant. This makes it the number one choice for intensive training, particularly when indoors.

Edelrid Robust Abriefest Icon
extremely abrasion-resistant
Edelrid Link Tec Technologie Icon
link tec technology
Edelrid Durchmesser Icon
diameter: 9,8 mm
Edelrid 3D-Lapcoiling Icon
3d lap coiling
Edelrid Normstuerze Icon
number of falls: 9
Edelrid Microsite Gewicht Icon
weight: 68 g/m
Edelrid Microsite Farbe Icon
color: oasis / red-green
Edelrid Microsite Zertifizierung Icon
certification: EN 892

 

 

 

Why polyester?

Polyester has a markedly higher abrasion resistance than other sheath yarns. However, polyester is a much more static material than polyamide (PA elongation at break: 20%, PES elongation at break: 15%). For this reason, manufacturers generally use polyamide for dynamic ropes. Thanks to our years of accumulated know-how and our targeted optimization of processes, we have succeeded in manufacturing the first polyester rope in accordance with EN 892.
An added bonus is that polyester has significantly higher resistance to chemicals (e.g. detergents for cleaning climbing holds) than polyamide.
The Boa Gym 9.8 mm also impresses in terms of technology and equipment. The double-braided design ensures a highly compact and smooth sheath structure. This additionally increases the abrasion resistance and provides a particularly smooth yet non-slip handling experience for all ages. In addition, the Boa Gym's core and sheath yarns are bonded together in the braiding process. As a result, sheath displacement is reduced to a minimum and the life span of the rope is significantly increased.

 

 

 

Of course, the Boa Gym is also manufactured using the 3D Lap Coiling process, which is our new winding technique. This means the rope is immediately ready to use. In combination with the sophisticated packaging design, it is now very easy to unpack the new rope straight at the wall. Annoying tangles and twists are now a thing of the past. Just unpack and climb!

Double-braided design for a highly compact and smooth sheath structure
3D lap coiling enables instant use without tangles
Thermo Shield treatment for perfect handling
Extremely abrasion-resistant polyester sheath

What is a double-braided design?

SPORTS BRAID
The sheath of EDELRID Sports Braid ropes has two yarns braided over one. This is different to a standard sheath construction where two yarns are braided over two other yarns. The result is a particularly compact and smooth sheath structure. These ropes are particularly abrasion resistant, glide easily through each piece of protection and offer incomparably supple handling. The Sports Braid sheath construction is ideal for ropes that are subject to prolonged wear and abrasion, e.g. top-roping and intensive sport climbing.

 

 

Who cuts better in the abrasion test?

2.000 cycles = deflation on a 15 meter wall

BOA GYM VS. BOA: Edelrid climbing rope hall rope Boa-Gym green-red

Boa Gym 9,8 mm

für intensives Training in der Halle

Edelrid Kletterseil Hallenseil Boa-Gym grün-rot
Edelrid Kletterseil Hallenseil Boa-Gym Mobilansicht
Boa Gym 9,8 mm

für intensives Training in der Halle

erste dynamische Einfachseil mit Polyestermantel

das EDELRID Boa Gym 9,8 mm

Edelrid Sicherungsgerät Giga-Jul Neu

Das Boa Gym ist das erste dynamische Einfachseil mit einem Mantel aus Polyester. Der Polyestermantel macht das Boa Gym extrem robust und abriebfest. Es ist damit die erste Wahl für intensives Training vor allem in der Halle.

Edelrid Robust Abriefest Icon
Extrem robust und abriebfest
Edelrid Link Tec Technologie Icon
Link Tec Technologie
Edelrid Durchmesser Icon
Durchmesser: 9,8 mm
Edelrid 3D-Lapcoiling Icon
3D-Lapcoiling
Edelrid Normstuerze Icon
Sturzanzahl: 9
Edelrid Microsite Gewicht Icon
Gewicht: 68 g/m
Edelrid Microsite Farbe Icon
Farbe: oasis / red-green
Edelrid Microsite Zertifizierung Icon
Zertifizierung: EN 892

 

 

 

Warum Polyester?

Polyester hat eine deutlich höhere Abriebfestigkeit als alle anderen Mantelgarne. Allerdings ist Polyester ein wesentlich statischeres Material als Polyamid (PA Bruchdehnung: 20%, PES Bruchdehnung: 15%). Aus diesem Grund verwenden Hersteller i.d.R. Polyamid in Dynamikseilen. Durch unser jahrelang aufgebautes Know-how und gezielte Prozessoptimierungen ist es uns gelungen das erste Polyesterseil nach EN 892 zu fertigen.
Ein angenehmer Nebeneffekt ist, dass Polyester eine deutlich höhere Beständigkeit gegenüber Chemikalien (z.B. Waschmittel für Klettergriffe) hat als Polyamid.
Auch in Sachen Technologie und Ausrüstung kann das Boa Gym 9,8 mm punkten. Die zweiflechtige Konstruktion sorgt für eine besonders kompakte und glatte Mantelkonstruktion. Dies erhöht die Abriebfestigkeit zusätzlich und sorgt für ein besonders geschmeidiges und dennoch griffiges Handling für Groß und Klein. Zusätzlich werden beim Boa Gym Kern und Mantelgarne im Flechtprozess miteinander verklebt. Dadurch wird eine Mantelverschiebung auf ein Minimum reduziert und die Lebensdauer des Seiles signifikant erhöht.

 

 

 

Selbstverständlich wird auch das Boa Gym im 3D Lap Coiling Verfahren, unserer neuen Wickeltechnik, gewickelt. Diese macht das erstmalige Abwickeln des Seiles unnötig. In Kombination mit dem durchdachten Verpackungsdesign ist es nun kinderleicht, das neue Seil vor Ort an der Wand auszupacken. Nervige Krangel und Verdrehungen gehören damit der Vergangenheit an. Einfach rausziehen und losklettern.

Zweiflechtige Konstruktion für ein besonders kompakte und glatte Mantelstruktur
Direkt einsatzfähig ohne Krangelbildung dank 3D-Lapcoiling
Angenehmes Handling dank Thermo Shield Behandlung
Extrem abriebfester Mantel aus Polyester

Was ist eine zweiflechtige Konstruktion?

SPORTS BRAID
Im Gegensatz zur Standardflechtkonstruktion, bei der jeweils zwei Zwirne von zwei anderen überkreuzt werden (einflechtigtandem), wird beim Sports Braid Verfahren ein einzelner Zwirn von zwei anderen gekreuzt. Das Ergebnis ist eine besonders kompakte und feine Mantelstruktur. Diese Seile sind besonders abriebbeständig, gleiten leicht durch Zwischensicherungen und haben ein unvergleichbar geschmeidiges Handling. Die Vorteile dieser Technologie werden vor allem bei Seilen deutlich, die Dauerbelastungen wie Topropen oder intensivem Sportklettern standhalten müssen.

 

 

Wer schneidet beim Abriebtest besser ab

2.000 Cycles = Ablassvorgänge bei einer 15 Meter Wand

BOA GYM VS. BOA: Edelrid Kletterseil Hallenseil Boa-Gym grün-rot